Traditional Territory Acknowledgment

The land that is known as Chatham-Kent today is the traditional land of the Three Fires Confederacy: the Odawa, Potawatami and Ojibwe. These Indigenous Nations, known as the Anishinaabeg and Lunaapeew, agreed to the mutual sharing of the land, with obligations and responsibilities to the environment. Chatham-Kent neighbours the Lunaapeew at Delaware Nation which is part of the McKee Purchase Treaty, as well as the unceded territory of the Bkejwanong Walpole Island First Nation. Chatham-Kent continues to be home to diverse First Nations Peoples and Métis Peoples. This land was settled through the McKee Purchase Treaty of 1790 and we, as beneficiaries of the treaty, recognize our responsibilities including our collective responsibilities to the land and water. Today these responsibilities and obligations extend to all Peoples.

We invite you to reflect upon this land acknowledgement, what it means to you, and how you are upholding the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action.

Scroll to Top